Universität Bonn

Hausdorff School: "Uniformity and Stability of Oscillatory Integrals"

July 8 - 12, 2024

Lipschitz-Saal (Endenicher Allee 60, Bonn)

Organizers: Philip Gressman (U. Penn), Dóminique Kemp (UW Madison/IAS/Princeton), Lillian Pierce (Duke University/Bonn Research Chair)

Description: Because of the ubiquity of Fourier analysis, oscillatory integrals are present in many techniques in both harmonic analysis and analytic number theory. Current state-of-the-art methods in both fields are pushing beyond classical methods because of increased importance of understanding the uniformity and stability of the estimates. In addition, researchers are uncovering unifying ideas that span the (traditionally somewhat separated areas) of oscillatory integrals in the setting of analysis, and character sums in number theory. Recent work on estimating oscillatory integrals have even applied model theory, from logic.

This summer school will give participants an introduction on the classical methods for estimating oscillatory integrals and explain current cutting-edge developments. Throughout, the lectures will view these problems through a lens of understanding the uniformity and stability of the estimates.

Lecture series by:

  • Michael Christ, UC Berkeley
  • Philip Gressman, U. Penn
  • Ian Petrow, UCL
  • James Wright, U. Edinburgh
  • Ruixiang Zhang, UC Berkeley

Additional talks by:

  • Polona Durcik, Chapman University
  • Dóminique Kemp, UW Madison/IAS/Princeton
  • Dominique Maldague, MIT
  • Hong Wang, UCLA

The University of Bonn and HSM are committed to diversity and equal opportunity. We aim to increase the proportion of women in areas where women are underrepresented and to facilitate their careers. We therefore strongly encourage women with relevant qualifications to apply.

The application deadline has expired.

In case of scientific questions, please contact the organizers at uniformity(at)hcm.uni-bonn.de, in case of questions concerning services and administration, please contact hsm(at)hcm.uni-bonn.de.

 This school will be followed by the one on Maximal Operators and Applications, July 15 - 19, 2024.

You are welcome to apply to attend both summer schools. In that case, we ask that (1) you submit the application for the summer school you are *most interested* in attending. On that application page, you will be able to tick a box indicating you are also interested in the other summer school. (2) Your letter of intent must then address how your work is related to both summer schools


Period of stay
Wird geladen