Universität Bonn

Hausdorff School: "TQFTs and their connections to representation theory and mathematical physics"

June 19 - 23, 2023

Lipschitzsaal, Endenicher Allee 60 (Bonn)

Organizers: Thorsten Heidersdorf (Bonn), Ingo Runkel (Hamburg), Christoph Schweigert (Hamburg), Catharina Stroppel (Bonn)

Description: TQFTs (Topological quantum field theories) are of central importance in several areas of mathematics and physics. From a mathematical point of view (going back to Atiyah), a TQFT is a symmetric monoidal functor from the cobordism category to some symmetric monoidal category. It can thus be seen as a representation of a fundamental geometric category on a target category and thereby organizes interesting algebraic structures, e.g. representations of mapping class groups, in terms of cobordism categories. In recent years, TQFTs have appeared in many more mathematical areas such as algebraic topology (the study of 4-manifolds) or algebraic geometry (the study of moduli spaces). In this Hausdorff school we would like to explore various facets of TQFTs related to representation theory and mathematical physics. The interplay of representation theory and TQFT is, at least, two-fold: on the one hand side, representation theory provides input data to construct TQFTs. The most famous example is given by the quantum groups Uq(sl(2)) from which a modular tensor category and thus a Chern-Simons type TQFT can be constructed. On the other hand, TQFTs explain and organize structures appearing in representation categories, for example character varieties and their quantizations.

Key Speakers: The following speakers will give a lecture series:

  • Adrien Brochier (Paris): Factorization homology and representation theory
  • Alexej Davydov (Ohio): E_n algebras and deformations of tensor categories
  • Tudor Dimofte (Edinburgh): VOA's and 3d TQFT's from supersymmetric QFT's
  • Mikhail Kapranov (Kavli IPMU): Higher Segal spaces

The University of Bonn and HSM are committed to diversity and equal opportunity. We aim to increase the proportion of women in areas where women are underrepresented and to facilitate their careers. We therefore strongly encourage women with relevant qualifications to apply.

In case of scientific questions, please contact the organizers, in case of questions concerning services and administration, please contact hsm(at)hcm.uni-bonn.de.

The deadline for registration has expired

Dear guests,

some of our guests are currently receiving phishing messages from scam travel companies such as travellerpoint(dot)org asking about travel details. Unfortunately, there is very little we can do to prevent this. Please, do not share any personal, or payment data with persons contacting you from emails that you cannot identify as belonging to the organizers at the University of Bonn or the Hausdorff Center for Mathematics. And feel free to reach out, if you are unsure!


Period of stay
Nanna Aamand University of Copenhagen
Severin Barmeier Universität zu Köln
Ivan Bartulovic 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Baran Bayraktaroglu University of Helsinki 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Daniel Bermudez Bonn university
Lukas Bonfert Max-Planck-Institut für Mathematik
Adrien Brochier Université de Paris-Cité 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Jennifer Brown Yale University
Merlin Christ Universität Hamburg 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Agustina Czenky University of Oregon 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Alexei Davydov Department of Matyhematics, Ohio University 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Tudor Dan Dimofte University of Edinburgh 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Matthieu Mr Faitg Université Paul Sabatier
Johannes Flake MPIM Bonn
Manuel Furlan University of Trieste 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Pierre Godfard Sorbonne-Université
Leon Goertz Utrecht University
Juan Ramon Gomez Garcia Paris-Cité University 18.06.2023 – 23.06.2023
Jannik Gröne Universität Hamburg 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Jonte Gödicke Universität Hamburg 19.06.2023 – 23.06.2023
Benjamin Haake University of Edinburgh 18.06.2023 – 23.06.2023
Benjamin Haioun Université Paul Sabatier Toulouse 3 19.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Mats Hansen LMU 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Thorsten Heidersdorf Newcastle University 19.06.2023 – 23.06.2023
Sebastian Heinrich Universität Hamburg 18.06.2023 – 23.06.2023
Aaron Hofer University of Hamburg
Mee Seong Im US Naval Academy
David Jaklitsch Universität Hamburg
Shuhan Jiang Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences
Ekin Kaan University of Vienna
Mikhail Kapranov Kavli IPMU 18.06.2023 – 25.06.2023
Eilind Karlsson TU München 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Dani Kaufman University of Copenhagen
Tuomas Kelomäki Aalto University 18.06.2023 – 23.06.2023
Mikhail Khovanov Columbia University
Patrick Kinnear University of Edinburgh
Shinji Koshida Aalto University
Amit Kumar Louisiana State University
Theodoros Lagiotis University of Edinburgh 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
James MacManus University of Nottingham 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Thomas Manopulo University of Bonn
Adrià Marin Salvador University of Oxford 19.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Konrad Martinek University of Vienna 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Katherine Maxwell Kavli IPMU 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Leo McCormack Queen Mary University of London 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Filippo Montorsi Università degli Studi di Modena e Reggio Emilia 18.06.2023 – 23.06.2023
Vincentas Mulevicius Vilnius University
Jonas Nehme Max Planck Institute for Mathematics
Barthélémy Neyra University of Aberdeen 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Nivedita Nivedita Merton College 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Iordanis Romaidis School of Mathematics, University of Edinburgh
Jack Romo University of Leeds
Lleonard Rubio y Degrassi Uppsala University
Ingo Runkel Universität Hamburg 18.06.2023 – 23.06.2023
Guillermo Sanmarco Iowa State University 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Christian Schneider Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Christoph Schweigert Universität Hamburg 18.06.2023 – 23.06.2023
Jan Luca Spellmann Utah State University 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Luuk Stehouwer Max Planck Institute for Mathematics
Catharina Stroppel Universität Bonn 19.06.2023 – 23.06.2023
Anja Svraka Technical University Munich 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Filippos Ilarion Sytilidis University of Oxford
Ying Hong Tham Universität Hamburg
Thomas Voss Universitaet Hamburg 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Chetan Vuppulury Sapienza University of Rome 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Bangxin Wang University of Zurich 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Dayuan Wang Ludwig-Maximilian-Universität 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Liao Wang Universität Bonn
Yilong Wang Yanqi Lake Beijing Institute of Mathematical Sciences and Applications (BIMSA) 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Till Wehrhan Max Planck Institute for Mathematics Bonn
Hao Xu Georg-August-Universität Göttingen 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Yang Yang Erwin Schrödinger International Institute for Mathematical Physics 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Matthew Young Utah State University
Alexander Zahrer University of Vienna 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Markus Zetto Heidelberg University 18.06.2023 – 24.06.2023
Wird geladen