Universität Bonn

News and Highlights
Thorsten Beckmann receives the Hausdorff Memorial Award

The Department of Mathematics (Fachgruppe Mathematik) honors Thorsten Michael Beckmann for the best dissertation of the academic year 2022/2023 in mathematics with the Hausdorff Memorial Prize. The honor today was presented by the chair of the Department, Herbert Koch, before the Hausdorff Colloquium in the Lipschitz Hall.

Ada Lovelace Prize for Vera Weber

The Institute for Numerical Simulation at the University of Bonn has awarded Vera Weber the Ada Lovelace Prize for the academic year 2022/2023. The prize was awarded for her master's thesis entitled "On aspects of discretization strategies with applications in imaging", which was supervised by Ira Neitzel.

Christian Bayer Wins ERC Proof of Concept Grant

The economist Professor Christian Bayer from the Institute for Macroeconomics and Econometrics at the University of Bonn and member of the Hausdorff Center for Mathematics (HCM) has been awarded a Proof of Concept (PoC) Grant by the European Research Council (ERC). This program hands researchers €150,000 in funding for up to 18 months to help them commercialize their ideas from previous ERC projects through excellent basic research.

Congratulations to Eva Viehmann for receiving the Leibniz Prize

Eva Viehmann from the University of Münster has been awarded the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2024 by the German Research Foundation (DFG) for her excellent research. With a prize money of 2.5 million euros, the Leibniz Prize is the most highly endowed German research award. Eva Viehmann has a close relationship to Bonn: she studied, completed her PhD and habilitation in Bonn and worked for a long time in the Arithmetic Geometry group at the Mathematical Institute of the University of Bonn.


PhD Students


ERC Grants


International Guests per Year


        Fields Medalists                          

Leibniz Prizes

Hausdorff Chairs

The Hausdorff Chairs make it possible to complement the faculty without the usual constraints in terms of timing and fields. We seek internationally outstanding scientists who fit into the broad spectrum of the Hausdorff Center.

© VL

Angkana Rüland

© VL


© VL


© BF

Lisa Sauermann

© VL

Christoph Thiele

Wird geladen