Universität Bonn

Department of Mathematics

Department of Mathematics

The Department of Mathematics coordinates mathematical teaching and research within the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences at the University of Bonn. It consists of the Institute of Mathematics, the Institute for Applied Mathematics, the Institute for Numerical Simulation and the Research Institute for Discrete Mathematics.

The department is represented by the Mathematics Committee, the central committee for mathematical research and teaching. It is subject to other central committees of Bonn Mathematics, such as the Examination Committee and the Evaluation Committee. In addition to research and teaching, the committee is also responsible for the implementation of gender equity goals and the awarding of the Hausdorff Memorial Prize, a prize for outstanding dissertations in mathematics.


The University of Bonn has four institutes dedicated to mathematical research and teaching. The subject spectrum of mathematics in Bonn ranges from pure and applied mathematics to interdisciplinary research and covers the entire spectrum of mathematics. The institutes are part of the Hausdorff Center for Mathematics, the Cluster of Excellence for Mathematics at University of Bonn.

  • Mathematical Institute: Prof. Daniel Huybrechts (Deputy: Prof. Matthias Lesch)
  • Institute for Applied Mathematics: Prof. Juan Lopez Velazquez (Deputy: Prof. Sergio Conti)
  • Institute for Numerical Simulation: Prof. Marc Alexander Schweitzer
  • Research Institute for Discrete Mathematics: Prof. Bernhard Korte

Gender equity

Bonn Mathematics sees the promotion of gender equality and diversity as a great opportunity for the development of mathematics. Goals for promoting gender balance and measures for their implementation can be found in the Gender Equity Plan (Gleichstellungsplan).

In addition to the measures taken by the Hausdorff Center for Mathematics (HCM), the Mathematics Commission has set up an Equal Opportunities Committee (Gleichstellungs-AG) to coordinate measures to promote gender equity and diversity. In the case of conflicts, the ombudspersons are available.


The Mathematics Commission has appointed ombudspersons who can be contacted at any time in the event of conflicts between individuals, such as misconduct, any form of harassment or personal conflicts. The ombudspersons are professors and scientific staff of mathematics with an open ear for the problems of students and employees in questions concerning equality or any kind of conflict. They are bound by secrecy.. Ombudspersons investigate complaints and try to find solutions, usually through recommendations (binding or not) or mediation. In agreement with the persons who approach them, they might also make contact with other professional personal of the university and hand over matters.

Avatar Krapf

Dr. Regula Krapf



Endenicher Allee 60

53115 Bonn

Avatar Davies

Dr. Jack Davies



Endenicher Allee 60

53115 Bonn

Hausdorff Memorial Prize

The Hausdorff Memorial Prize is awarded annually for the best dissertation in mathematics. It commemorates the mathematician Felix Hausdorff, who was a professor in Bonn from 1910 to 1913 and from 1921 to 1935.

  • The prize is awarded for the best dissertation of an academic year.
  • Candidates may be nominated by professors or researchers with the status of a Privatdozent*in up until 18 October of each year.
  • The decision is made by Jury appointed by the Department of Mathematics.
  • The prize is composed of a prize money of €500 and selected literature.
  • The annual award ceremony is held on the anniversary of Felix Hausdorff's death on 26 January (or on an adjacent day), usually as part of the Hausdorff Colloquium.

Awardee of the Hausdorff Memorial Prize for the best PhD thesis in the academic year 2022/23 in Mathematics is Dr. Thorsten Beckmann. The title of his PhD thesis is Geometry and derived category of holomorphic symplectic vector fields and his advisor was Prof. Dr. Daniel Huybrechts.

Thorsten Beckmann, awardee of the Hausdoff Memorial Prize 2022/23
Lucas Mann, awardee of the Hausdoff Memorial Prize 2021/22 © Regula Krapf

2021/22: Dr. Lucas Mann

  • Title of the PhD thesis: A p-Adic 6-Functor Formalism in Rigid-Analytic Geometry
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Peter Scholze

2020/21: Dr. Florian Schweiger

  • Title of the PhD thesis: On the Membrane Model and the Discrete Bilaplacian
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Stefan Müller

2019/20: Dr. Danica Kosanovic

  • Title of the PhD thesis: A geometric approach to the embedding calculus knot invariants
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Peter Teichner

         und Dr. Vera Traub

  • Title of the PhD thesis: Approximation Algorithms for Traveling Salesman Problems
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Jens Vygen

2018/19:  Dr. Richard Höfer

  • Title of the PhD thesis: Sedimentation of particle suspensions in Stokes flows
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Juan J. L. Velázquez

2017/18: Dr. Eva Kopfer

  • Title of the PhD thesis: Heat flows on time-dependent metric measure spaces
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Karl-Theodor Sturm

2016/17: Dr. Martina Vera Baar

  • Title of the PhD thesis: Stochastic individual based models of adaptive dynamics and applications to cancer immunotherapy
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Anton Bovier

2015/16: Dr. Stefan Schreieder

  • Title of the PhD thesis: Construction problems in algebraic geometry and the Schottky Problem
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Daniel Huybrechts

2014/15: Dr. Robert Kucharczyk

  • Title of the PhD thesis: On arithmetic properties on Fuchsian groups and Riemann surfaces
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Ursula Hamenstädt

2013/14: Dr. Angkana Rüland

  • Title of the PhD thesis: On Some Rigidity Properties in PDEs
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Herbert Koch

2012/13: Dr. Matthias Erbar

  • Title of the PhD thesis: Ricci curvature and gradient flows of the entropy for jump processes
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Karl-Theodor Sturm

2011/12: Dr. Peter Scholze

  • Title of the PhD thesis: Perfectoid spaces
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Michael Rapoport

2010/11: Dr. Eugen Hellmann

  • Title of the PhD thesis: On arthmetic families of filtered-modules and crystalline representations
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Michael Rapoport

2009/10: Dr. Barbara Zwicknagl

  • Title of the PhD thesis: Mathematical analysis of microstructures and low hysteresis shape memory alloys
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Sergio Conti

2008/09: Dr. Benedikt Wirth

  • Titel der Dissertation: Variational Methods in Shape Space
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Martin Rumpf

2007/08: Dr. Ulrich Terstiege

  • Title of the PhD thesis: Intersections of arithmetic Hirzebruch-Zagier cycles
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Michael Rapoport

2006/07: Dr. Johannes Ebert

  • Title of the PhD thesis: Characteristic classes of spin surface bundles: Applications of the Madsen-Weiss-Theory
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Carl-Friedrich Bödigheimer

2005/06: Dr. Robert Philipowski

  • Title of the PhD thesis: Stochastic Interacting Particle Systems and Nonlinear Particel Differential Equations from Fluid Mechanics
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Karl-Theodor Sturm

2004/05: Dr. Eva Mierendorf

  • Title of the PhD thesis: On affine Deligne Lusztig Varieties for GL
  • Advisor: Prof. Dr. Michael Rapoport

Job opportunities

Are you looking for a new professional challenge in research, teaching or administration at the Mathematics Department in Bonn? Are you looking for a position as a student assistant? Here you can find our current job offers.


Avatar Koch

Prof. Dr. Herbert Koch

Head of the Department


Endenicher Allee 60

53115 Bonn

Avatar Baumgarten

Silke Baumgarten

Administration office


Endenicher Allee 60

53115 Bonn

Office hours of the administration office:

The administration office offers the following office hours:

  • Tuesday and Thursday:
    10.00-13.00 hrs

  • Wednesday:
    13.00-15.00 hrs
Wird geladen