Universität Bonn

Conference: Nonlinear PDEs, images, shapes and beyond - a conference in honor of Martin Rumpf´s 60th birthday

June 3-5, 2024

Venue: Lipschitz-Saal (Endenicher Allee 60, Bonn)

Organizers: Benjamin Berkels (RWTH), Alexander Effland (University of Bonn), Benedikt Wirth (University of Münster)

Description: In honor of Martin Rumpf's 60th birthday, this conference covers various mathematical areas he has been and is still active in including mathematical imaging, computer graphics, shape spaces and shape optimization, numerical analysis for PDEs, and variational discretizations. A leitmotif will be how to render complex mathematical models computationally accessible in a rigorous way. Speakers are scientists Martin Rumpf has been working with and sharing paths of his mathematical journey with.

In case of scientific questions, please contact the organizers at effland(at)iam.uni-bonn.de. In case of questions concerning services and administration, please contact hsm(at)hcm.uni-bonn.de.

The registration is open.

Dear guests,

some of our guests are currently receiving phishing messages from scam travel companies such as travellerpoint(dot)org asking about travel details. Unfortunately, there is very little we can do to prevent this. Please, do not share any personal, or payment data with persons contacting you from emails that you cannot identify as belonging to the organizers at the University of Bonn or the Hausdorff Center for Mathematics. And feel free to reach out, if you are unsure!

© Sergio Conti, Martin Rumpf, Stefan Simon


  • Mirela Ben-Chen (Technion Israel Institute of Technology)
  • Sergio Conti (University of Bonn)
  • Patrick Dondl (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg)
  • Martin Metscher (MTU Aero Engines AG)
  • Felix Otto (Max-Planck-Institut für Naturwissenschaften)
  • Tobias Preußer (Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Medicine MEVIS)
  • Carola-Bibiane Schönlieb (University of Cambridge)
  • Peter Schröder (California Institute of Technology)
  • Rüdiger Schultz (Universität Duisburg-Essen)
  • Gabriele Steidl (Technische Universität Berlin)
  • Robert Strzodka (Universität Heidelberg)
  • Max Wardetzky (Universität Göttingen)
  • Barbara Zwicknagl (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)

Wird geladen